No more apartment woodworking

DSCN1545Since my last post, quite a bit has happened. The biggest change is that my wife and I bought our first house this past spring. Its a nice cape cod with a two car garage and plenty of room in the back yard for a small shop. I am hoping next summer I’ll be able to build said shop, maybe a 12×16 if the city allows it. For the time being, I am in the garage. The last six months of 2012 I spent my time building a hutch for some friends that got married. Well even into the first part of 2013. I was bound and determined to get it done so the blog suffered. After that, came the house buying process and moving. Then I finally finished my Bow Back Windsor chair that I started last year. And just recently, I took a Fan Back Windsor chair class with Curtis Buchanan at Kelly Mehler’s school. That was a great a time. Curtis was a fantastic teacher, and despite his laid back demeanor, he is super precise and his attention to detail helps to make for a great chair. You can see some more from the class on Greg Pennington’s blog. So now this week I am finally finishing my Arts and Crafts bookcase that made two years ago. Then I’ll get on to the coffee table I promised my wife, a new workbench, shavehorse, and more chairs. Once I get this book case finished, I promise to take better care of documenting my builds and writing here. If anyone is still reading….

DSCN1113DSCN1542

DSCN1539DSCN1547

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to No more apartment woodworking

  1. Jamie Bacon says:

    That’s a beauty of a Windsor. Great job. Congratulations on the house. And on getting to take a class from Curtis Buchanan. I’d say he’s about the best out there. And he comes off as a really good guy too.

  2. Jorge Paulo says:

    Congrats on the house and the beautiful chair!
    P.S. We also want to hear about any recent backsaw acquisitions…. 😉

Leave a comment