With a little help…..

A couple of weekends ago I was back home visiting family and finally putting the finish on the book shelf I made my mom for Christmas. My 10 year old niece took an interest so I gave her an old shirt, a few directions, and put her to work. I think I might have to come up with a project for her.

 

 

 

 

 

 

Not much else has been doing these days as work tends to consume my weekdays. This leaves only weekends which I have to divide up amongst family and friends. The big news is I am heading down to The Woodwright’s School at the end of the month for the tool chest class with Chris Schwarz. What? Don’t you have a tool chest in the works? Yes, but it is way to small and the wife wants furniture.

My main reason for taking the class is this: time. I seem to have more money than time these days. Overtime is a mixed blessing.  I battled with myself over whether it would be worth it to take the class. I can dovetail and do all the other operations needed to make the chest, but I could also use a saw before taking the sawing class last summer. However, I still learned quite a bit in that class and I am sure I’ll get plenty out of this one. Besides, who wouldn’t want the opportunity to hang out with Roy and Chris again?

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to With a little help…..

  1. Jamie Bacon says:

    I’m sure that’s gonna be one AWESOME class! I’d love to be able to spend a week down there. I’m hoping to get back this spring/summer but I’m sure it’ll only be for a one or two day class. I’ll take what I can get though. I hope you take lots of pictures and do a blog or two about the class. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

