A gift…

This Christmas I made my mom a little book shelf. It’s a combination of the Stickly magazine stand that Chris Schwarz made for Woodworking magazine and the one Glen Huey made for the “I Can Do That” column. I used materials and the finish that were described in the ICDT article but used dadoes like the original. I laid out the dadoes with a square and marking knife. Then I basically chopped out a mortise at the stopped end of the dado for the sawdust. I then made little trenches for the saw to ride in with a wide chisel. Then it was just sawing to my lines, chopping out the waste with a chisel, and cleaning it up with a router plane. I cut all the curved parts with a coping saw and used a half-round file and sand paper to clean them up. I glued up the shelves and sides and nailed on the supports. Lastly I applied a couple coats of Watco’s Dark Walnut finish. I still need to put on a top coat, but didn’t have enough time. I’ll have to get back to it in the coming weeks.

 

 

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

