Almost there…..

I need to make some mortises in the top and bottom shelves for the wedges, make some wedges, do some chamfering, and then finish it. I want to use the same finish that Robert Lang used on his Morris chair from the April 2011 issue of Popular Woodworking. He used an aniline dye called Fumed Oak from Lockwood. Tools for Working Wood sells it so I will have to order some up. I have only ever applied finish once before. That was to my cherry end table and all that was was a wipe on finish that Chris Schwarz recommended. It went on pretty painlessly. Just a mix of BLO and mineral spirits. I think this will be a bit more complicated. Hopefully I don’t screw this one up.

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

