Bookcase update…

Well it’s been a long while since I last posted. Life has gotten in the way of woodworking. It’s not all bad though, got to go on nice little get away with the wife for our one year anniversary which is coming up at the end of the month. Mostly though it has been work as always.

Finally got back to my bookcase. The end of July I had chopped the mortises in the stiles and whenever I found time last month I cut all the tenons on the rails. I have been fitting them all one at time with my router plane, shoulder plane, and some chisels. I got one side mostly assembled today. Should be able to get the other one done throughout the week, overtime pending of course. Still need to cut the pieces for the feet and chop the mortises in them. Also need to cut the shelves to fit into the rails, and then chop the mortises in the top and bottom shelves for the wedges. Really this project has taken me a ridiculous amount of time to finish. I have a hard time keeping focused. I start thinking about other projects, I start other projects (tool chest, saw benches, etc), I get frustrated with the lack of space, and so on. Oh well. More for me to work on. The good news is that I am pretty much on the home stretch. I have the hardest parts of the project done I think. It shouldn’t take too much longer, maybe by NewYears……………………………

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

