Williamsburg

After leaving North Carolina, my wife and I headed up to Williamsburg, VA. This was the first time either of us had been to Colonial Williamsburg. We both have a love of history and wanted to see how it compared to our beloved Henry Ford Museum and Greenfield Village. I was especially looking forward to all of the historic trades. As can be expected of a woodworker, I spent time in all of the wood related shops. I was able to talk with the joiners, carpenters, and cabinetmakers. I also took photos of furniture from most of the other buildings. I can’t think of much to say about it other than it was extremely hot, the food at the taverns was awesome, and I would love to build a timber frame structure at least once in my life. Just not when it’s 115 degrees outside. I’ll let the pictures do the rest of the talking.

The joiner's shop

The Hay cabinetmaker's shop

The Hay shop

The Hay shop

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to Williamsburg

  1. Jamie Bacon says:

    My favorite place in the world! I’m about two and a half hours away so I buy a season pass every year and try to get down there half a dozen times a year or so. I’m surprised the guys in the Cabinet and Joiners shops haven’t called me in as a stalker. 🙂 They’re all really nice guys though. And amazing craftsmen. Glad you got a chance to check it out.

Leave a comment