Disappointment and regret…..

….the two things I don’t want to feel at the end of a project. Right now, I am feeling both and I’m not even done. The tool chest is basically on stand-by now. I am about 36 hours or so from leaving for North Carolina and have too much I want done. The chest has sides, a bottom, saw till, and a top. No skirt, no dust seal, no trays, no handles, no finish. No go. I am to the point now that I am just going to take my chisel roll, jack plane, and a back saw and bench hooks. I have no desire to take a project that I should never have started without first thinking through. I wish it were bigger. I wish I had not used any power tools. I wish I had better pine. I wish I had laid out of my dovetails better. I need to make a promise to myself  from here on out that I will only buy wood that is thick enough that I can get it square and true and still end up with my desired dimension, that I will take the time to make sure every piece is square and true; and that I will take my time. Take my time. I have rushed myself through this project and it shows. My last post I talked about all the little things adding up, well I am nearing the total and it’s not looking good. Don’t get me wrong, I will finish it some day. I am just done worrying about it for now. If anyone is reading this and you are contemplating building a chest, or any project for that matter, take your time and do everything to your best ability. Do it right or you may end up where I am at. It’s not fun, trust me.

Oh, and one more thing…..

I need to do more of these. This is far from perfect, but it helps.

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

