Tool chest progress

I have been putting in many hours at work lately which leaves me with little shop time. The weekend after I cut up all the wood for the carcase I was able to edge joint the boards and glue them and cut them to size. Throughout the last couple of weeks I have been doing the dovetails. This is the first carcase I have ever done and the first project I have done with dovetails. Until now all the dovetailing I have done has been with pieces of scrap, not really worrying about how square and true everything is. I am pretty happy with how it turned out. Inside dimensions ended up being 12″ by 22 1/2″ and a bit over 13″ deep. It’s on the small side but should get me by until I have more room.

I also received and read Chris Schwarz’s new book, The Anarchist’s Tool Chest. It was a good read and entertaining. He has a very human approach to writing, I guess. Maybe. I like it, that’s what matters. I picked up some good info and will put it to use. I was planning on attaching the boards to the bottom and using a ship lap joint, which he suggests. I probably won’t dovetail the skirt though since the box is a little out of square. Not sure how well that would work out for me. During glue up it went together pretty tight and I wasn’t too sure how to fix it. Oh well, I am sure this won’t be my last tool chest. Not sure how I will do the lid either. I either need to come up with a plow plane or I think I may just break down and use a table saw to cut grooves for the frame and panel construction. I just hope I can get it done in the next couple of weeks. Otherwise I will have to take the old plywood chest with me to the Woodwright’s School and that wouldn’t be very fitting.

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

