Practice

Practice is something I never thought about when it came to woodworking. I always just looked at woodworking as, you do it, and as you do it you get better. However, I have been reluctant to just do it after spending a good amount of money on cherry and oak. So I find myself practicing on scraps and cheap dimensional lumber like 2x4s. One thing I have found useful and enjoyable to do is the Gotshall Block that Bob Lang from Popular Woodworking wrote about. I recommend this little block for anyone getting into woodworking that plans to use handtools. It’s great for so much. If you start with a 2×4 or 2×6, you can practice your planing. Then once you get a square block, you can practice your layout, sawing, and chiseling. Here’s my first attempt. Sawing and chiseling to follow.

About messimerwoodworking

I'm a hobbyist woodworker. I live in a two bedroom apartment that I am fortunate enough to have a workbench in. Hand tools, lumber, time, and hopefully some acquired skill will produce some respectable furniture. We'll see...........
This entry was posted in General stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

